Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering Academy

The KU CEAE Academy, founded in 2011, honors our department’s most distinguished alumni and friends.  Academy members are elected by the CEAE Advisory Board in recognition of their outstanding professional achievements, civic service, and advocacy and support for KU CEAE.

New Inductees

MS Civil Engineering 1980, PhD Civil Engineering 1985, Global Head of Innovation for development of alternative reinforcements for concrete at BASF Construction Chemicals (Retired)
Bill Clawson
B.S. Business Administration 1972, B.S. Civil Engineering 1976, MS 1978, Ph.D. 1980, Vice President, HNTB Corporation
B.A. in English, Kenyon College, Ohio, B.S. Civil Engineering 1986, M.S in Civil Engineering 1994, Senior Project Manager, Envr. Advisors & Engr., Inc.


B.S. Civil Engineering, 1964 Notre Dame University, M.S. Transportation, 1966 Purdue University, Ph.D. Transportation, 1973 Purdue University

All Members

B.S. Civil Engineering 1957, Chief of Engineering Directorate of Civil Works,, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1958, Chairman and CEO, Becker Corporation, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering and Business Administration 1964, Vice President, Phillips Petroleum Company, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering, 1981, Senior Project Manager at Fehr Graham/Engineering & Environmental
B.S. Civil Engineering 1952, M.S. 1961, Chairman of Boyd, Brown, Stude and Cambern, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1958, M.S. 1965, Ph.D. 1974, Vice President and Principal, TranSystems Corp., Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering, 1966 , Ph.D. Environmental Engineering, 1970, President and Headmaster, Kapalama School, Hawaii , Elected 2011
Warren Corman
B.S. Architectural Engineering 1950, Director of Facilities, Kansas Board of Regents, KU University Architect, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1957, Partner, Lutz, Daily & Brain Consulting Engineers, Elected 2011
Paul Endacott
B.S. Civil Engineering 1923, President, Phillips Petroleum Company, Member, KU Basketball Team, National Player of the Year 1923 , Elected 2011
Managing Principal, FINLEY Engineering Group, B.S. Civil Engineering, Elected 2019
B.S Electrical Engineering 1976, M.S. 1978, MBA 1992, D.E. 1990, Professor and Chair, KU Architectural Engineering, Elected 2017
Linton E. Grinter
B.S. Civil Engineering 1923, Dean of Engineering, University of Florida, Elected 2011
William J. Hall
B.S. Civil Engineering 1948, Professor and Chair, Department of Civil Engineering,, University of Illinois, Elected 2011
Robert A. Kipp
B.S. Civil Engineering 1952, MPA 1954, Vice President, Hallmark Cards Inc., City Manager, Kansas City, Missouri, Elected 2011
David C. Kraft
Professor and Dean, KU School of Engineering, Elected 2011
Stanley Learned
B.S. Civil Engineering 1924, President and CEO, Phillips Petroleum Company, Elected 2011
Michael K. Loose
B.S. Civil Engineering 1975, Vice Admiral and Deputy Chief of Naval Operations,, U.S. Navy, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1971, CEO, Jacobs Engineering Group Inc., Elected 2017
Ross McKinney
Distinguished Professor and Chair,, KU Civil Engineering Department, Elected 2017
John S. McNown
B.S. Civil Engineering 1936, Distinguished Professor and Dean,, KU School of Engineering, Elected 2011
Dwight F. Metzler
B.S. Civil Engineering 1940, Kansas Secretary of Health and Environment, Elected 2011
Thomas M. Murray
Ph.D. Engineering Mechanics 1970, Distinguished Professor of Structural Steel Design,, Virginia Tech University, Elected 2011
George E. Nettles Jr.
B.S. Civil Engineering 1950, President and CEO, Midwest Minerals Inc., Elected 2011
Parsons, V.P., Critical Infrastructure/Mobility Solutions Market, B.S. Civil Engineering, University of Kansas, MS Structural Engineering, George Washington University
Executive Vice President, Black & Veatch, Executive Managing Director of the Americas Region-Water Business, B.S. Civil Engineering, M.S. Civil Engineering, Elected 2019
Jim Patton
B.S. Civil Engineering 1964, President, Americas Division, Black & Veatch, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1985, President, Phelps Engineering Inc. , Elected 2017
B.S. Architectural Engineering 1994, Vice President, Henderson Engineers, Elected 2018
John H. Robinson
B.S. Civil Engineering 1949, Managing Partner, Black & Veatch, Elected 2011
Thomas B. Robinson
B.S. Civil Engineering 1939, Managing Partner, Black & Veatch, Elected 2011
Distinguished Professor and Chair,, KU CEAE Department, Elected 2017
B.S. Civil Engineering 1975, President and Owner, David E. Ross Construction, Elected 2018
Dave G. Ruf Jr.
B.S. Civil Engineering 1960, Chairman, President and C.E.O., Burns & McDonnell, Elected 2011
President & CEO, Henderson Engineers, B.S. Mechanical Engineering, M.S. Architectural Engineering , Elected 2019
Robert L. Smith
Distinguished Professor and Chair,, KU Civil Engineering Department, Elected 2011
Scott Smith
M.S. Civil Engineering 1981, Director of Strategic Initiatives, HNTB Corporation
, Elected 2011
Charles E. Spahr
B.S. Civil Engineering 1934, Chairman and CEO, Standard Oil Company of Ohio, Elected 2011
Gregs Thomopulos
B.S. Civil Engineering 1965, President and CEO, Stanley Group Inc., Elected 2011
Murli Tolaney
B.S. Civil Engineering 1969, M.S. Environmental Engineering 1971, Chairman and CEO, Montgomery Watson Inc., Elected 2011
Kenneth J. Vaughn
B.S. Civil Engineering 1957, M.S. 1963, President, Larkin and Associates, Elected 2011
B.S. Civil Engineering 1909, Civil Engineer professional degree 1924, Founder and Managing Partner, Black & Veatch, Elected 2017
M.S. Environmental Health Engineering 1990, President, Global Water Business, Black & Veatch , Elected 2018
B.S. Civil Engineering 1986, M.S. Civil Engineering 1992, Elected 2019
B.S. Civil Engineering 1979, President and CEO, A. Zahner Company, Elected 2017

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times

 Follow KU CEAE 

  Follow KU CEAE - Facebook Instagram, media, social, new, logo, circle, network icon  Twitter circle Logo Icon of Flat style - Available in SVG, PNG, EPS, AI &  Icon fonts Follow KU CEAE - LinkedIn